It’s been a while

Haven’t been around for a while.  Busy, busy, busy.  Work is busy, shuffling the kids around to places is busy.  There always seems to be something going on.

I was traveling last week to teach a course which I love to do and don’t get to do all that often anymore.  So that was fun.  And I apparently screwed up my hotel reservation, reserving for only one night instead of two.  The hotel called me to find out why I hadn’t checked out and to tell me that they needed the room.  So I asked if they had another room, and they said “sure, we can move you to one of our jacuzzi suites.”  Um.  Okay!  They took everything out of my other room, put it in the new room exactly where I had put it.  And they left me a handwritten note and a box of chocolates.  And I got to have a bath in the big jacuzzi tub.  With fancy bath salts.  I haven’t had a bath in like 5 years because my bathtub is questionable for actually touching large parts of your body with because the previous homeowner painted the tub and all the paint is flaking off, and the bathrooms are low on our list of things to renovate. I ‘m okay with my feet touching the bathtub when I have a shower, but having my ass and legs and everything touching it doesn’t seem right.  So anyway, I got to have a bath.  Oh, and they didn’t charge me any extra for the better room.  And, it was my fault that the reservation was wrong.  So a big shout out to the Four Points Sheraton for that.

I also got to have dinner with two of my former colleagues which was awesome.  And to meet some people who I’ve only spoken with on the phone.

I get to go to Florida to do training for 4 days in May.  Great excitement.  It will be almost all work, but still.

And so, aside from that, my daughter turns 13 on Tuesday so for her birthday present I am taking her out this afternoon to get her hair dyed funky colours.  My son had a bunch of friends over last night to play games.  One kid slept over.  They were actually asleep by 12:30.  That’s practically unheard of.  Now he’s upstairs playing Minecraft while on a Skype call with his friends.  Which means he’s yelling.  He always yells on Skype.

I have been reading a lot.  I am on book 9 of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books now. Well officially book 10 I guess, but I didn’t read the guide to the brotherhood book because the library didn’t have it. The library has become my new best friend.  I believe that I have read a book a week so far this year.  Maybe 2 books per week.  I think that I might be doing all this reading to escape from something.  Avoidance.

The other night I cleaned up my home office.  It’s nice in here now.  I will be able to do coaching calls without being overwhelmed by stacks of paper and clutter.

I started reading this book called The Writing Diet.  They talk about doing morning pages.  I think perhaps I’m the only person in the world that hadn’t heard of this.  So basically you get up in the morning and write 3 long hand pages of whatever.  This seems like a good idea.  Except that it happens in the morning.  You’re supposed to get up an hour earlier to do these pages.  I love how everyone always says to get up an hour earlier to do stuff like it’s no big deal.  Most days I don’t want to get up at all, no matter what time it is.  Never mind an hour earlier than whatever stupid hour I already have to get up at.  Sure, get up an hour earlier to go to the gym, and another hour earlier to write morning pages and another hour earlier to make a good breakfast.  Pretty soon I won’t be going to bed at all.  Or I’ll be going to bed right after I get home from work so I can get up 6 hours earlier to do all the things that are supposedly good for me.  So I struggle with this.  Obviously.  Because I’m really tired.  Not just tired.  Like, I want to break down sobbing kind of tired.  Like I can barely keep my eyes open even after I get up kind of tired.  I need to sort this out though, cause I’d like to do morning pages.  I didn’t get to finish the book because it was due back at the library and someone had a hold on it so I couldn’t renew it.  I might buy the book though.  I’m very interested in diet books that are not actual diets.

Speaking of diet like activities, I hit my 30 days sugar free and hung it up.  That box of chocolates in the hotel room was my undoing.  What I’ve learned from this is that I’m pretty sure sugar gives me heartburn.  So that’s good to know, cause I surely hate heartburn. Almost as much as mornings.

I’m going to see Black Sabbath tomorrow.  That should be a riot.  My best friend and I are going out for dinner first and then on to the show.  I might even straighten my hair for the event.

And there you go.  Enough of my ramblings.  Well almost.  Cause I’m hungry and although I’ve been up since 8 to make my son and his friend bacon, I haven’t eaten.  So I’m going to make something to eat.  Speaking of ramblings, if you read my previous post, I talked about stating truths and desires.  Here’s a desire.  I would really like to write something here every day.  That is my desire.  Just putting it out there for the universe to absorb.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

