What I ate this week

Here’s the past week’s eating round up.  Things didn’t exactly turn out the way I’d hoped, since my schedule was thrown off by my grandmother’s hospitalization.

Sunday

  • Breakfast/lunch – onions, peppers, turkey, eggs
  • Dinner – Spaghetti pizza pie.  I used spicy Italian sausage and added a yellow pepper, garlic and mushrooms, and I used a can of spaghetti sauce.  I’m not exactly sure why the recipe called for pouring the eggs on top of the spaghetti squash/meat mixture.  It would have been easier to mix it all in a bowl, which is what I’ll do next time.  There will be a next time, because it was really good.  My daughter even ate it.

Monday

  • Breakfast – turkey, sauteed spinach, 2 eggs
  • Lunch – left over spaghetti pizza pie, canteloupe
  • Dinner – Crispy Chicken Dippers and a salad of romaine, baby spinach, tomatoes, celery and green onions.  There would have been carrots in the salad too, but when I took the bag of carrots out of the fridge, I realized they were rotten.  Like really rotten — all smushy and leaky.  I’ve never seen carrots go this bad.  And I haven’t had them all that long.  So I threw them out.  Then I could still smell a very faint smell of vomit.  Turned out some of the rotten carrot juice had dripped on my shirt.  I smelled the spot and nearly vomited myself.  So I had to take the shirt off.  And then I found out that the juice had soaked into my bra, so that had to go too.  Good thing my boyfriend’s friend had dumped beer into my gym bag, necessitating a load of laundry, so I could wash my bra.  It’s my favourite one.  Anyway, I made the chicken into nuggets.  They were pretty good.  She talked about some kind of maple mustard dipping sauce in the recipe, which of course is a thing we can’t buy here, so I made my own with some grainy mustard and maple syrup.  It was good.  My son didn’t like the nuggets because he didn’t like the texture of the coconut, so I will make a different kind of breading in the future.  My daughter liked them though.

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast – turkey, sauteed spinach, 2 eggs
  • Lunch – chili from Tim Horton’s at the hospital
  • Dinner – I made some taco meat for my kids using ground beef, tex mex spice and a can of tomato sauce and cooked it in the crockpot.  I thought the meat was a bit bland.  The kids didn’t seem to like it.  My mom liked it though.  I actually ended up not eating the stuff at all because I didn’t feel like eating.  I think I had some leftover spaghetti pie later.  I also had potato chips at some point. Oh, and some leftover nuggets.

Wednesday

  • Breakfast:  A leftover sausage.  Then went to subway where the woman behind the counter made me a breakfast sandwich out of those flat egg patty things they have.  She put turkey, ham, bacon, lettuce, tomatoes, green peppers and some mayo on the egg patty so I could stay dairy and gluten free.  It was pretty decent.
  • Lunch:  We missed lunch while running around and going to the hospital.  That was a bad idea because I was starving later.
  • Dinner:  Swiss Chalet — my parents like Swiss Chalet.  I had a quarter chicken dinner and fries.  Wednesday night I got home and felt like passing out.  Thought I was getting a cold or something.  After having an hour and half long nap, I was searching through the house for anything to eat, I was having such bad sugar cravings.  Ended up having a protein shake.

Thursday:

  • Breakfast – turkey, sauteed spinach, 2 eggs.  I really like this breakfast.
  • Lunch – leftover spaghetti pie, nuggets and canteloupe
  • Dinner – french fries at Costco.  Bad.  But there was nothing else gluten or dairy free.  Played volleyball on Thursday night and we actually won all three games, which our team is not used to doing.  Continued having that feeling of getting a cold.  Also ripped the mask for my C-PAP machine, which sucks.  I have another one, but it doesn’t fit right.

Friday:

  • Breakfast – turkey, sauteed spinach, 2 eggs.
  • Lunch – Bag of plain Lay’s potato chips.  I was not properly prepared on Friday because I was running around and didn’t bring a lunch.
  • Dinner – Kale chips. I bought a bunch of kale and made chips.  Cajun spiced ones, Italian spiced ones and Indian spiced ones.  Later the last of the spaghetti pie.

Saturday:

  • Breakfast/lunch – taco salad from Wendy’s.  This I’m pretty sure had cheese on it.  It was buried under the chili.
  • Snack – the rest of the nuggets, and the protein chocolate chip muffin
  • Dinner – not sure yet, but it’s looking like chicken fried rice
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

