Bad things happen in threes

In my house, you will find Ouija boards, tarot cards, spell books, astrology books, crystals and various other occult and witchcraft related things.  Including a black cat.  Also an orange cat, a grey cat and a fluffy black and white cat.  I was born on Halloween.

There is a lot of symbolism and meaning around the number three in many religions.  The Holy Trinity in Christianity.  In Wicca, there is the rule of three and the maiden, mother and crone.  Three is the number of activity, social gatherings and parties.

And people often say that bad things happen in threes.

Monday night, my boyfriend had a friend over, and the friend managed to dump an entire bottle of beer into my gym bag.  Everything, and I mean everything, was soaked with beer.  I had to wash all of my gym clothes and the bag itself.  It’s not all that big of a deal, but right now, we are renovating our laundry room, so the washing machine needs to be reconnected every time we want to use it.

While dealing with the beer mess, my dad called to say that my grandmother was being brought to the hospital in Ottawa, from where they live, in a small town about 2 hours away because she needed emergency bowel surgery.  My grandmother is almost 89 years old.  She has an aneurysm in her heart.  And arthritis.  We of course were worried about her making it through surgery.

Then I went to grab my phone and I dropped it, which I have done thousands of times before, but this time, it decided that enough was enough and the screen shattered.

No more bad things happened that night.

I washed my clothes and the bag.

My grandmother came through the surgery like a trooper.  She is doing well so far.  I took a couple days off work to be at the hospital with her and my family.

When I got to work today, I had a shipment of phones from one of our other offices.  In that shipment was the same type of phone I just shattered.  So now I have a new phone.

Maybe good things happen in threes too.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bad things happen in threes

  1. Pingback: What I ate this week | Hello there Marshmallow Mommy

Leave a Reply

