Reflections

I got off to a kind of bad start this morning when I was looking at my (naked) self in the mirror.  Started seeing those rolls and feeling blah again, and was about to resolve to go on a serious restrictive diet and work out 3 times day.  Then I took a deep breath and decided to get on with my day and go grocery shopping.  My boyfriend was still in bed and he said something like “snuggles?” so I decided that was a good idea.  Got off to a late start on the groceries, but it was worth it.

I seem to be really embracing this paleo idea.  I’m not going all out paleo, but I like some of the recipes, and I figure I can always add rice or beans or something if I want.  It’s expensive to cook this way though.  You need coconut flour and almond flour and coconut butter and none of that stuff comes cheap.  Speaking of coconuts, I keep hearing how coconut water is the greatest thing ever so I bought a bottle of it today.  I am drinking it while typing this.  Or, I should say, trying to drink it.  I’m not sure what all the fuss is about.  Let’s just say I’m glad I didn’t buy a big bottle of the stuff.  I don’t think I’ll be able to finish the glass I poured.  The one I bought is pineapple flavour so maybe that’s the problem.  I don’t know, I like pineapple and coconut, but pineapple flavoured coconut water is a big miss for me.  I’m skipping coconut water.

As I sit here waiting for my Almost 5 Ingredient Pizza Spaghetti Pie to cook, I’m browsing the Treats section of PaleOMG and pinning stuff for future reference.  Gonna cost me an absolute fortune in nut butters.  So for the pizza spaghetti pie, I added mushrooms, garlic and half of a yellow pepper.  And I used a whole can of tomato sauce.  Mine filled a 9×13 pan rather than 8×8 and is taking a long time to cook.  That’s not necessarily unusual though as my oven seems to run kind of cool.

The boyfriend seems a little unimpressed with my new way of eating.  Apparently he wanted homemade pizza.  Which I would have made for him if I’d known earlier that he really wanted it.  And he seems a little annoyed that the pizza spaghetti pie doesn’t have actual spaghetti in it (it’s spaghetti squash).  Oh well.

So tomorrow I intend to start running — back to the Couch to 5K.  I plan to go to the gym after the kids leave for school.  I don’t really like working out in the mornings, but I can’t think of any other time that I’ll actually manage.  So we’ll see how it goes I guess.

Update:  the boyfriend tasted the spaghetti pizza pie and pronounced it good.  Apparently his pizza craving was too much to overcome though, so I showed him out to make the crust and he’s making his own pizza.  In absolutely astounding news, my daughter actually ate the spaghetti pizza pie.  She put cheese on hers, but I still consider it a major win.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

