Craving

I’m having big time cravings for cheese today.  I’m not sure exactly why.  Maybe because I watched both my kids make themselves mini pizzas and that melty, gooey cheese looked so good.  I just want to melt some cheese in the microwave and eat it.  I’ve done that on many occasions, believe it or not.

For the record, I have absolutely no intention of giving up cheese, or ice cream, or sugar, or pasta, or bread or really any food permanently.  Right now, I’m just trying to eliminate all of those things for a month, to see if it helps me feel better.  Then I really intend to do and 80/20 type of thing — include those foods in my diet about 20% of the time, and really, really enjoy having them.

So anyway, I’m overcoming my cheese craving by searching the internet so I can plan next week’s meals.  A little while back, I stumbled on this absolutely amazing website called paleOMG.  The author, Juli posts what look like completely amazing paleo recipes, along with funny stories with each recipe.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to make every single meal this week from that website.

For those who are looking for some inspiration, here’s what we (at least my boyfriend and I, cause my kids are perhaps the fussiest eaters in the world) ate for the last 5 days.

Monday

  • Breakfast – sauteed spinach, sliced turkey, 2 eggs
  • Lunch – chickpea/veggie stew with rice (I bought this at the work cafeteria)
  • Dinner – Paleo Tomato and Butternut Squash soup. Completely delicious.  Mine looked nothing like the one in the picture, but was it ever good.  I also had Bacon and Acorn Squash Patties (which is actually a recipe originally from PaleOMG) but these didn’t work out for me — wouldn’t form into patties.  So I made the whole mess into a casserole and I wasn’t crazy about it.  I think they would have been good as patties though.

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast – same as Monday, except I used kale instead of spinach
  • Lunch – Leftover soup and squash casserole.
  • Dinner – Italian Style Chili in the crockpot.  I added white kidney beans to it and served it on some rice (since we’re not doing strict paleo) with some avocado

Wednesday

  • Breakfast – Same as Monday
  • Lunch – Leftover chili from Monday
  • Dinner – Paleo Ginger Chicken Breasts over baby spinach and steamed aspargus.  Sauteed the spinach in butter.  This was really good.

Thursday:

  • Breakfast – Whole 30 Breakfast Casserole.  The version I had of this is actually from the Once a Month Meals subscription I have and they substituted bacon and cooked it in a crockpot, and to be honest, I didn’t like it.  I’ve given it a few tries now, but the rest of it I have in my freezer is going in the garbage.  However, looking at the original recipe, it looks like it might be good if made as intended.
  • Lunch – went to Swiss Chalet with my parents since they were in town.  Had a quarter chicken dinner and fries. How happy am I that that’s gluten, dairy and sugar free?  Yay!
  • Dinner – Tilapia fillets with veracruz sauce, indian spiced pan fried potatoes and kale chips.  We got the tilapia frozen from Costco.  For the veracruz sauce, I sauteed 4 cloves of garlic (chopped) and 1 onion (diced) in some olive oil.  Then I added a can of spicy red pepper diced tomatoes and a bunch of italian seasoning and let that cook down a little.  Then I sliced up about half a cup of green olives and added a handful or so of capers.  If you were so inclined you could add some more chilis to spice it up more.  For the potatoes, I sliced up a bunch of potatoes fairly thin on the mandoline, along with one onion.  Put all of that in a cast iron pan with some butter and Indian masala spice and cooked it.  You could do it in a baking pan in the oven too. For the kale chips, I tore the kale up into smallish pieces and tossed them with some olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder.  Put them in a single layer on a baking sheet in the oven at 300 for about 30 minutes.  This was the first time I’ve made kale chips, and I will definitely be doing it again.  The boyfriend even liked them and he was super skeptical about them at first.  Overall, this was a great meal.  Really enjoyed it.

Friday:

  • Breakfast – Breakfast veggie prep with 2 eggs and half an avocado
  • Lunch – leftovers from yesterday’s dinner
  • Dinner – nothing.  Weird right?  Oh wait, I ate half an avocado with some salt and pepper.

Saturday:

  • Breakfast – protein shake made with almond milk
  • Lunch – leftover potatoes from Thursday sauteed in a pan, a couple of slices of turkey and two eggs
  • Dinner – haven’t had it yet, but am planning a thai panang curry with shrimp over either rice or rice noodles

I think my cheese craving is gone now.  Still planning next week’s menu.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

